Georges Briard

My first piece

My first piece of Georges Briard inspired Culver Glassware for Pyrex

Georges Briard was an acclaimed designer for glassware. I didn’t know of him, until I purchased this platter at a local thrift store. Even more so, he had been a part of my life, growing up.

Beautiful art work.

Beautiful art work.

My nana had several pieces of Briard, such as this glassware for Libby. As you can see, his signature is very prominent. You won’t have trouble identifying his pieces.

This pattern is called Icicle in yellow.

This pattern is called Icicle in yellow. My nana had the entire set. I am considering finding my own set, ITW.

Fruit and Veggies. You can see his style is pretty distinctive.

Fruit and Veggies. You can see his style is pretty distinctive.

And the hits keep coming! I swear, there's a Briard for everyone!

And the hits keep coming! I swear, there’s a Briard for everyone!

The platters are what I find reminiscent, the most. The images of fruit and vegetables or the ornate gold zodiac/sand dollars are screaming late 60s early 70s. The service ware came in beautiful gold colored trivets, and had several pieces to a set.

This service set belong's to my friend, Summer. In her words, and I agree, it is AMAZEBALLS.

This service set belongs to my friend, Summer. In her words, and I agree, it is AMAZEBALLS. The design is that sand dollar look, as mentioned above.

I’m sure people may mistake the Zodiac Pyrex for a Briard, but it is not. No signature!

Actually, I cannot find who is responsible for this design, so it is simply considered a Pyrex pattern.

Actually, I cannot find who is responsible for this design, so it is simply considered a Pyrex pattern.

Save

Leave a Reply

